Medals, Honorary Fellowship, Prizes

The Society’s Medal

The Society’s Medal was instituted in 1883. It is awarded annually to ‘some person highly distinguished for services to Numismatic Science’, as elected by the Council, normally at its April meeting, on the vote of at least two-thirds of those members present. The dies for the original silver medal were given to the Society by Sir John Evans in 1883. A new cast silver medal commissioned from Ian Rank-Broadley was first presented in 1993.

To see list of the Society’s Medallists click here.

Honorary Fellowship

Honorary Fellowship of the Society may also be awarded by the Council in recognition of a Fellow’s important contribution to the study of numismatics. There are usually around 25 Honorary Fellows at any time.

To see list of Honorary Fellows click here.

The Society’s Prizes

The Royal Numismatic Society presents a number of prizes each year for outstanding work in various fields. The prizes and their recipients over the years are listed below.

The Society is always keen to hear about new and innovative work, and welcomes nominations from members and non-members alike. Nominees do not have to be members of the Society. Nominations should be sent to either:


The Secretary,
The Royal Numismatic Society,
c/o The Department of Coins and Medals,
British Museum,
Great Russell Street,
London WC1B 3DG.

The Prizes